Hertfordshire names four firms on 127 million pound resurfacing framework

Contract award

Hertfordshire names four firms on 127 million pound resurfacing framework

By Staff Writer  |  27 August 2026

A tandem road roller compacting a freshly laid black asphalt surface on a carriageway

Hertfordshire County Council has published a contract award notice for its framework for structural maintenance and resurfacing treatments, valued at 127,200,000 pounds excluding value added tax and 152,640,000 pounds including it. The notice, identifier 081252-2026, was published on 26 August 2026 at 12:37pm. The award is dated 26 August 2026 and its status is recorded as pending rather than active.

Four suppliers are named on the award, each against the lots recorded beside its name. Eurovia Infrastructure Limited of Horsham is recorded against Lot 1, 2R and 3R. O'Hara Bros. Surfacing Limited of Hatch End is recorded against Lot 1R. Kiely Bros. Limited of Birmingham is recorded against Lot 2, 3 and 4. Henderson and Taylor Public Works Limited of London is recorded against Lot 5.

The notice is a UK6 contract award notice published under the Procurement Act 2023, the procedure was an open procedure, and the tender status is recorded as complete. The council describes the arrangement simply, stating that it went out to procurement for the provision of a framework for structural maintenance and resurfacing treatments and that the opportunity has now closed.

Five lots, five bidders on every one

The bidding statistics published with the notice are unusually uniform. Each of the five lots attracted five bids and five final stage bids. On each of the five lots, three of those final stage bids came from small and medium sized enterprises, and none came from a voluntary, community or social enterprise. Three of the four appointed suppliers are recorded as small or medium sized enterprises; Eurovia Infrastructure Limited is recorded as large.

A fifth company appears on the record as a tenderer without appearing as a supplier. Hanson Quarry Products Europe Ltd, trading as Hanson Asphalt and Contracting, is listed against Lot 1 in the party list with the role of tenderer only. The notice gives no reason, and none is required of it.

The lot labels themselves carry designations the notice does not explain. Eurovia is recorded against Lot 1, 2R and 3R, and O'Hara Bros. against Lot 1R, so the same lot numbers appear both with and without the letter suffix. The published record does not define what the suffix denotes, and it is not stated whether the suffixed entries sit in a different order of priority from the unsuffixed ones. Anyone reading the framework as a call off route will need the framework agreement itself to answer that, because the award notice does not.

The scope, read from the classifications

The work covered by each lot is set out through eleven classifications. They run from site preparation and clearance work, through drainage works and drainage and surface works, to road maintenance works, footpath construction, cycle path construction, road surface painting, paving and asphalting, carriageway resurfacing and surface work for roads, closing with repair, maintenance and associated services related to roads and other equipment.

That is the full width of a highways structural maintenance programme rather than resurfacing alone. Drainage appears twice in the list, which matters on a resurfacing framework because water is what destroys a road surface after it has been laid. Delivery is recorded against a single area, the Hertfordshire region code, so the framework is county wide rather than divided geographically.

Pending is not in force

The award status is the point to hold on to. A pending award records a decision taken and published; it does not record a contract in force. The notice was published the same day the award is dated, and it does not state when the framework is expected to start or how long it will run. No contract period appears against the award at all.

Nor does the notice break the 127,200,000 pound figure down between the five lots or between the four suppliers. The value is a framework ceiling covering all five lots, and nothing published commits the council to ordering any particular share of it from any one firm. For contractors on the framework, the volume of work that follows will be settled by the call off arrangements rather than by the notice, and those are not published with it.